BOSTON trip!

Hi all,

I hope everyone has been back to the swing of school work and sports after the winter break. I know that all my classes have definitely recommenced as if there had been no break and it’s hard to transition back! Luckily for me, a friend invited me to stay with her at a family friend’s house in Boston the first weekend back on campus. Let me just say, although we only had Thursday and Friday classes, the mini trip was much needed by the end of the two days. My friend, Sara, and I took the morning train to Boston and spent our time walking around Newbury Street and Prudential Center until suddenly, the snow started pouring down at around 3:00 p.m. Apparently there was a blizzard warning for the day and we had no clue! We ended up having to return to the house much earlier than we would have liked to before the blizzard fully hit. Luckily, we made it back before the roads were blocked from all the snow.

Even with the snow, it was so much fun! I’m a boarding student from California and although I’ve been here for three years, I always forget how cold it can get and how burdensome the snow can be — especially when it alters your weekend plans. We ended up staying indoors watching the snow pile up, baking cookies and brownies, eating ice cream by the fire and sipping on some hot chocolate. It was a picture-perfect “snow” day like in those from movies I saw growing up. In the early evening, we realized we didn’t have any food to make dinner, so the family took us to the nearest grocery store— in the middle of the blizzard, and can I just say, that was probably the most I have ever experienced a car slide in snow. It can get pretty bad in California during heavy rains, but it’s nothing compared to driving in the snow in New England!

img_5927

We spent the next day in Cambridge until we had to come back to Exeter for the night. It was such a fun getaway and I am so glad I was able to experience the trip in the snow with Sara. Even though we’d only been back on campus for two days, it was fun to have a new experience and share fun, new memories with my friend!

Whether you live in New England or somewhere snowy and can relate, or are from a sunny state like me, here are some pictures for all of you to enjoy! (picture credits: Rachel Luo)

288eafe6-35bf-47f8-b9cd-5ffe068a5054

8546f6a2-9b34-4b68-9914-d3a6ae33740e

1174edbd-291d-4f3e-a2a5-08a5c8e4d576

 

This entry was posted in The Campus by Bridgette Han. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bridgette Han

Hi! I am Bridgette a current upper (a.k.a junior) at Phillips Exeter Academy. I live in Amen hall on the South Side of campus with thirty other amazing girls. My favorite subjects are biology and math. I play the flute in chamber and symphonia orchestra and play volleyball and run track!

Leave a Reply

