Fun in the Sun!

Before I arrived at Exeter, I had no idea how many different ways my friends and I would find to have fun!  This past Sunday was Easter and some students left campus to spend the day with families and friends.  Sunday was the warmest day yet of the year – the high reached 80 and we had beautiful blue skies (at home in North Carolina, we would describe the sky color as “Carolina blue”), with a light breeze and green leaves just beginning to peek through on the trees.

 

Spikeball

In the morning, some friends of mine and I attended a morning service at one of the churches in town.  After church, I met up with another of my friends for an Easter picnic brunch on the quad.  The quad is a beautiful large and open green space located between dorms on the south side of campus.  It is the perfect spot for kicking around soccer balls, throwing footballs, playing Frisbee, and sitting on the grass to enjoy the day.  My friend and I laid out a blanket and placed on it all of our culinary delights from local grocery stores and our textbooks (for later use).  We soon had our “spread” set up and were enjoying strawberries and biscuits with whipped cream, a baguette, cheese, watermelon, and Easter candy.  As the afternoon wore on, people came and went from the ever-popular quad. A number of our classmates stopped by to hang out with us at our spot under the shade of a large oak tree.  We shared our food, talked, read, and did homework together until late afternoon.  It was a wonderful day with friends and, as a bonus, we even managed to get some sun and get our homework done as well!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Picnic Fina;

Here’s looking to more warm days, clear skies, and time with friends ahead!

This entry was posted in The Campus by Marie Leighton McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marie Leighton McCall

Hello! My name is Marie Leighton and I am a member of Exeter's Class of 2018. It is my third year at PEA and while I am far from my home in North Carolina, my wonderful dorm of Hoyt Hall has become my second home. I enjoy spending time with my classmates and friends in clubs such as Model UN, Business Club, and ESSO American Sign Language, and with my teammates on the rowing team. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at mlmccall@exeter.edu

Leave a Reply

